Columbia S.C WEATHER

The Saint Mark Baptist Church was founded in 1885 at Fort Jackson (Camp), South Carolina.  Some of the pioneers were Rev. John Myers and Rev. Lyles Johnson.  The Deacons were Jim Glover, Preston Patterson, Frank Martin, Nathan Taylor, and Tom Crumpton.  Because of World War I, Camp Jackson expanded, thereby making it necessary for St. Mark to find another location. 

In 1918, St. Mark moved to 2532 Senate Street. We grew under the leadership of Rev. Thomas H. Broadus, Rev. W.S. Bookhart, Rev. David Carter, and Rev. I. B. Butler.  The Deacons were Andrew Jacobs, S.T. Taylor, James Saulter, Osbourne Thomas, Harry Haynes, John Bookart, Preston Patterson, Earl Worthy, and Solomon Gordon. As the membership grew, additional deacons were added to the Board of Deacons:  William Huff, John B. Taylor, Robert Taylor, and Willie Jones.  Auxiliaries of the church were:  Missionary Society, Pastor’s Aid Ministry, Usher Board, Jubilee Choir, and Musical Choir.

Changes were implemented under the different leadership; we kept the faith in God and knew He would led us on.  In April 1961, Reverend Charles L. Jackson accepted the position of pastor at St. Mark.  A building fund was established to purchase a new place of worship. We purchased property on Farrow Road for investment purposes.  The Trustee Board was organized at this time. In April 1970, we purchased our present church and church annex. The mortgage for this property was paid off in four years.  Under Rev. Jackson’s leadership, we added to the Board of Deacons:  Willie Grier, Lenny Gordon, Alvin Wright, Charlie Jacobs, Oliver Thomas, Joseph Harris and Virgil Manley.  The church’s Constitution and By-laws were established.  The Young People for Christ (YPC) and Bible Study class were organized.  Reverend Hedrick Galloway accepted the position of pastor in September, 1986. He organized the Board of Christian Education and the Deaconess Board. In March 1990, Reverend Roy C. Jeffcoat accepted the position of pastor. The church continued to grow under his administration.  The Young Women’s Auxiliary and the Junior Usher Board were organized.  Additional members were appointed to the Trustee Board during his administration. Reverend M.C. Fennell was officially installed as the pastor of St. Mark on March 20, 1994.  The church added stained glass windows throughout the sanctuary.  A church van was purchased in addition to the property beside the church annex.

Dr. Hiram Spain, Jr. was elected Pastor in March, 1998.  Under his leadership, additional members were added to the Deacon Ministry:  Willie Adams, Jr., Randy Harris, Rufus Stover, and Robert Taylor, Jr.; new Trustees were added to the Trustee Ministry and a member of the Trustee Ministry was hired as Financial Secretary; the position of Minister of Music was established; and a new clerk was elected upon the retirement and death of the previous clerk, Deacon John B. Taylor.  Also under the leadership of Dr. Spain, Bible Study and Prayer Service were reinstituted; the Men’s Choir was reestablished; the Church purchased property adjacent to our edifice at 2701 Chestnut Street; the Pastor’s Aid Ministry, Health Ministry and Kitchen Ministry were organized; and a Foundation for Youth (RAM) was formed and chartered by the State of South Carolina. Under the leadership of Dr. Spain, the church completed construction of a new Fellowship Hall; several cosmetic improvements were made within the Church, including updating the bathrooms; Baptismal Pool and adding hot running water. Our Church has been completely computerized; office furniture and other items have been donated to the Church. The Church is an active member of the Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance of Greater Columbia, The Baptist Educational and Missionary Convention of South Carolina, The National Baptist Convention USA., Inc., and the Gethsemane Baptist Association. Four Associate Ministers have been united with the Church, and the Church has ordained its first female Minister. Prior to Dr. Spain’s retirement, three new trustees were added to the Trustee Ministry. Upon Dr. Spain’s retirement, the title of Pastor Emeritus was bestowed upon him.

On February 22, 2017, Reverend Reginald L. Johnson was elected as Pastor.